Organized by Himalayan Velocity in association with the Union Ministry of Information & Broadcasting, India at Gaiety theatre, the 4th International Film Festival of Shimla concluded on Sunday. Eighty International as well as national films by various film makers from 23 countries were screened during the three days festival.

 In the International category “The Fog” by Ali Shoorvarzi, Hoseyn Mahroughi was adjudged as the best short film. Special Jury award for Short Films went to Singapore produced Short film “The Opaque” directed by Anish Kunnath and “Its Also Love” by Masao Konno from Japan

In the National category “Anahut” (Marathi) by Umesh Bagade from Mumbai Maharashtra bagged the best short film award. Special Jury Short Fiction award went to “Plucked” (Kannad) by Tejus Yakhob from Karnataka. Best Feature Film title went to the national award winning film ” Sinjar” by Sandeep Pampally from Calicut, Kerala &  Renjilal Damodaran‘s “Nawal Enna Jewel”  won the special Jury award or feature film.

During the media interactions various film makers shared their film making experience with media and the audience. There was also a high presence of Malayalee film makers at the event with all their films dealing international issues.

For the first time in the history of Indian Film Festivals, a special screening of the Films was also made at the Central Jail, Kanda for the Jail inmates who enjoyed watching the various national award winning films.

The film festival also had master classes by film makers. Students from various students of Shimla like Auckland, St. Thomas, St. Edwards, Swarn Public School, Himalayan Public School, Paramount Public School, KV Jakhoo, Tara Hall, Blue Bells Dhalli, Monal Public School and Shimla Public School participated in the master class

Award Winning directors at Shimla