Pravasi Express held its annual event last Saturday in Singapore


Pravasi Express Awards for the year 2016 was part of the annual event. Ambassador-At- Large Gopinath Pillai handed over the awards in “Pravasi Express Nite-2016” held at Kallang Theatre on 06 Aug 2016. For her continuous and invaluable service in the social welfare sector, Daya Bai received the “Life time Achievement Award”.

Pravasi Express editor-in- Chief G Rajesh Kumar preceded the event in which film actor and Ex-Kerala Minister Ganesh Kumar was the Guest of Honour.

G Venugopal received the “Music Excellance Award” for his decades long musical journey.

MP Shyam Kumar, Kerala Kaumudi Kannur unit Chief received the “Media Excellence Award”. For promoting Malayalam language and establishing the infra structure for teaching the same here, Jayadev Unnithan received the “social Excellence Award”.

The following awards were also handed over to individuals  in various sectors.

Parvathy Nambiar (Youth Choice Award), Jayakumar Aravindakshan  (retail business),
Sreenivas Kurupp (IT Business),  Ashok Nair (Sports Excellence), Gangadharan Kunnon (Community engagement),  Shaji Philip (Yuva Pravasi Award).

Singapore Kairalee Kala Nilayam (SKKN), a 60 year old Malayali organisation  was taken over by a new team of office bearers recently. The “re-launching” of SKKN was officially done by film star Ganesh Kumar during the event.

A musical treat lead by G venugopal and supported by singers Sithara and Sachin Warrier added colour and flavour to PE Nite-2016.

Also, a drama titled “KANNADI” was staged by the SKKN members which was appreciated by one and all.